Meditation Retreat Journal Entry #6

April 16, 2009

There is no obstacle, the only thing I could possibly be struggling with in meditation is myself, there is nothing else and no one else in there. My experience in meditation is completely volitional. I go as far as I choose to go. The content of thought is irrelevant. Whether I think a beautiful thought or an ugly one, once it is gone, it is gone. It leaves no trace. It only remains in consciousness if I make the effort to remember it. Only then does it have any lingering psychological or emotional effect, otherwise once it’s gone, it’s gone as if it never happened.

 

That must be why Andrew Cohen has said that thought does not create Karma.

 

Thought is not real. If my attention is fixated solely on thought, then my attention is fixated solely on that which is unreal.

 

A knowing deeper than thought must shift in order for real change to occur. Insight alone won’t change anything.

One Response to “Meditation Retreat Journal Entry #6”

  1. Albert said

    please keep posting! I’m very interested in your progress 🙂

Leave a Reply

